About Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico is an island in the Caribbean Sea and is part of a collection of islands referred to as the Greater Antilles. The Greater Antilles consists of Cuba, Hispaniola (which contains the nations of the Dominican Republic on the east side of the island and Haiti on the west side of the island), Jamaica, Puerto Rico, and the Cayman Islands (which contains the nations of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman).

The country of Puerto Rico actually consists of a total of 142 individual islands with the main island referred to as Puerto Rico. Besides the main island of Puerto Rico, the next three largest islands that are part of the country are Vieques, Culebra, and Mona.

By land area, Puerto Rico is the fourth largest island in the Caribbean Sea behind Cuba, Hispanola, and Jamaica.